极性部分

极性部分是固体表面能或者液体表面张力的组成部分,是因为极性作用力而形成的。当液体表面张力的极性部分和色散部分已知,固体的自由表面能可以通过测量接触角用不同的方法来确定。

背景

非协变量,极性相互作用力发生在分子偶极矩。这些分子因为不同的电负性有着永久不平等的电子密度而相互结合,与此同时,分子是非对称的。(例如水)。分子偶极矩可以同另外一个分子形成极性作用力。

表面张力σ同另外一相建立在粘附作用力(粘附功)的基础上,根据Owens, Wendt, Rabel and Kaelble法吴氏方程,分为色散部分(σD)和极性力(σP)。两部分总和构成总的表面张力。

当一相接触到另外一相,粘附作用力(粘附功 WA)的范围取决于是否能同另外一相之间相同作用力作用。我们可以从Owens, Wendt, Rabel and Kaelble 等式举例看出:

extended Fowkes法计算表面自由能,它也是氢键结合和其他极性作用力。Oss & Good法是根据路易斯酸碱模型来描述极性作用力。

在以上我们提到的数据模型中,极性力和色散部分的结合对于粘附作用力是没有作用的。

Polar part

The polar part is that part of the surface free energy of a solid or the surface tension of a liquid which is due to polar interactions. When the polar part and the dispersive part of the surface tension of liquids are known, the surface free energy of a solid can be calculated by measuring the contact angle using different models.

Background

Non-covariant, polar interactions occur in molecules with a dipole moment. These are molecules with a permanent inequality of the electron density due to different electronegativities of the bonding partners while at the same time the molecule is asymmetrical (e.g. water). Molecules with a dipole moment can form polar interactions with one another.

The surface tension σ is based on cohesive interactions (work of cohesion) within a phase, which, according to Owens, Wendt, Rabel and Kaelble and also Wu, are dispersive (σD) or polar (σP). In each case the sum of the parts makes up the total surface tension.

When there is contact with a second phase, the extent of adhesive interactions (work of adhesion WA) depends on whether similar interactions can be formed with the adjacent phase. This can be seen from the equation according to Owens, Wendt, Rabel und Kaelble for example:

In the extended Fowkes method for determining the surface free energy, discrimination is also made between hydrogen bonds and other polar interactions. Oss & Good describe polar interactions in accordance with the Lewis acid-base model.

In the models mentioned, the combination of polar and dispersive parts does not contribute to the adhesive interactions.