杨拉普拉斯拟合

杨拉普拉斯拟合是一种测定接触角液滴形状分析方法。这种液滴形状分析是基于理想座滴分析的,在这里液滴曲率是表面张力和重力的平衡造成的。

背景

根据杨拉普拉斯等式,在曲面液体表面,曲率半径r1和r2,表面张力σ与 拉普拉斯压力p存在关系:

座滴在重力作用下,曲率受由液体重量产生的静水压影响,同时表面的曲率半径随高度而变化。按照杨拉普拉斯拟合,在模拟座滴形状的等式中的参数由数字分析均值决定。在测量接触角过程中,模型轮廓和基线三相点)交点是固定的。

对称无变形的液滴并且在平滑水平样品上,杨拉普拉斯拟合会提供与实际液滴形状最好的一致性。另外如果图片比例和液体密度已知,液体表面张力也能计算得出。

一旦液滴形状偏离因大接触角和体积产生的椭圆形, 杨拉普拉斯拟合倾向于圆锥曲线法。杨拉普拉斯拟合不适用于非对称液滴(如测定动态接触角时)或者样品不水平(如在倾斜台上测量)。

杨拉普拉斯拟合也可用来计算液体的表面张力,或者是通过悬滴法计算两相的界面张力。

Young-Laplace fit

The Young-Laplace-fit is a Method for determining the contact angle in drop shape analysis. The drop shape is analysed based on the shape of an ideal sessile drop, the surface curvature of which results only from the force equilibrium between surface tension and weight.

Background

According to the Young-Laplace equation, with a curved liquid surface, there is a relationship between the radii of curvature r1 and r2, the surface tension σ and the Laplace pressure p:

With a sessile drop under the effect of gravity, the curvature is affected by the hydrostatic pressure resulting from the weight of the liquid. At the same time, the radii of curvature of the surface change as a function of height. With the Young-Laplace fit, parameters of an equation system which models the shape of the sessile drop are determined by means of numerical analysis. The point of intersection of the modelled contour with the baseline (three-phase point) is determined in order to measure the contact angle.

In the case of a symmetrical, undistorted drop on a level, smooth surface, the Young-Lapace fit gives the best correspondence between the theoretical drop shape and the real drop shape. In addition, the surface tension of the liquid can be calculated if the scale of the video image of the drop and the density of the liquid are known.

As the shape of the drop deviates from the elliptical form for large contact angles and volumes, in these cases the Young-Laplace fit is preferred to the conic section method. The Young-Laplace fit is not suitable for asymmetrical drops (e.g. when measuring the dynamic contact angle) or for samples which are not level (e.g. for measurements on a tilting table).

The Young-Laplace fit is also used to calculate the surface tension of a liquid or the interfacial tension of a two-phase system using a pendant drop and, finally, for interfacial tension measurements with a spinning drop tensiometer.