乳剂

乳剂是一种多种物质和液体的混合液,不会互溶且没有分界面。与此同时,分布的小液滴会出现在另外一相中,在其中一相通常是疏水的,另外一相为亲水。表面活性剂(常说的乳化剂)对于对乳剂的产品和稳定性有非常重要的作用。它们既可以是自然物(比如牛奶),也可以是添加到混合液里的(比如化妆品)。

油水乳剂中添加表面活性剂示意图

乳化性描述的是混合液形成乳剂或者需要达到乳化的趋势。

背景

当在乳剂中形成了可见的小液滴的时候,会在合适大小的乳化相和大的体积相形成之间形成一个大的界面。要达合适的界面张力,必须搅动或者摇晃这个体系进行做功。表面活性剂降低了界面张力并增加了小液滴的数量,同时降低了当混合的时候液滴游动到一起的趋势。
微乳剂是一种特别的例子,在特定条件下(表面活性剂条件、盐度和温度都满足)形成,一旦满足条件可长时间保持稳定。

测试方法

界面张力测量是研究乳化性的一个重要手段,根据测量范围的不同,采用Du Noüy环法Wilhelmy板法表面张力仪滴体积法张力仪,而微乳剂的形成条件则要采用旋转滴张力仪来研究。

Emulsion

An emulsion is a mixture of substances comprising liquids which are not soluble in one another and in which no phase boundary is visible. At the same time, finally distributed droplets of one phase are present in another phase, wherein one of the phases is usually hydrophobic and the other hydrophilic. Surfactants, as so-called emulsifiers, contribute to the production and stabilisation of emulsions. These are either of natural origin (e.g. in the case of milk) or are added to the mixture (e.g. in cosmetics).

Formation of emulsions from oil and water after the addition of surfactants

Emulsifiability describes the tendency of mixtures to form an emulsion or the effort required to achieve this.

Background

When forming the fine droplets which are present in an emulsion, a large interface is produced between the available volume of the emulsified phase and the bulk phase. The work necessary to achieve this - in practice agitating or shaking - corresponds to the interfacial tension. Surfactants reduce the interfacial tension and give rise to smaller droplets and a reduced tendency of the droplets to flow together (coalescence) when mixing.
Microemulsions, which form spontaneously under certain conditions (surfactant content, salt content, temperature) and are stable when the conditions are maintained, are a special case.

Measuring methods

Measurements of the interfacial tension are carried out in order to investigate the emulsifiability. Use is made of force sensor tensiometers with the Du Noüy ring method or the Wilhelmy plate method and drop volume tensiometers depending on the measuring range. The conditions for the formation of a microemulsion are investigated with a spinning drop tensiometer.