韦伯数

韦伯数是应用在流体力学中的一个特性数。无量纲量描述的是液体流过一个流体介质时变形惯性力和稳定内聚力的比值。比如:韦伯数描述了当生产乳剂时,喷嘴雾化质量和小液滴的尺寸大小的比值。

背景

当一个液体流动通过另外一相流体相(空气或者液体),这时的流体力或者气动力FA引起液体变形和分散。

cw = 阻力系数, L = 特征长度, ρ = 密度, v = 流动速率

内聚力FK表面张力或者界面张力σ有会在关,它会阻止表面面积的增加,从而产生了形变。因此液滴会因为表面张力或者界面张力而紧紧的聚在一起。

韦伯数We描述的是两种力之间的比值:

如果变形力因为更快的速度或更长的过程而增加,喷雾分散产生液滴会更容易,水相环境中油滴也能更容易的撕裂分开。高表面或者界面张力会抵制这个过程。表面活性剂,用来降低液体表面张力或者两相之间的界面张力会更被关注。所以,表面活性剂经常应用于喷雾和乳化中。同样的应用于萃取过程,那些小液滴在相界必须大面积交换的过程。

当计算韦伯数时,表面活性剂溶液表面或者界面张力由于过高的作用速度,没有达到平衡常数的那部分必须考虑在内。泡压法因此经常作为测量表面张力,滴体积法则用来测量界面张力。这些方法测量动态表面张力或者界面张力可以单独测量表面年龄。

Weber number

The Weber number is a characteristic number used in fluid mechanics. As a dimensionless quantity, it describes the ratio between deforming inertial forces and stabilizing cohesive forces for liquids flowing through a fluid medium. For example, the Weber number characterizes the atomizing quality of a spray and the resulting droplet size when producing emulsions.

Background

When a liquid flows through a second fluid phase (gas or liquid), then the fluid-mechanical or aerodynamic force FA causes the drops to deform and ultimately disperse.

cw = Drag coefficient, L = Characteristic length, ρ = Density, v = Flow rate

The cohesion force FK associated with the surface tension or interfacial tension σ opposes the increase in surface area which is caused by the deformation. The drop is therefore held together by the surface or interfacial tension.

The Weber number We expresses the ratio between these two forces:

If the deforming force increases due to a higher speed or longer process length, the drops of a spray disperse more easily and drops of oil in an aqueous environment are split apart more easily. A high surface or interfacial tension counteracts this process. Surfactants, which reduce the surface tension of the liquid or the interfacial tension between the phases concerned, are therefore often used in sprays and emulsions. The same applies to extraction processes in which small droplets must ensure a large exchange surface area at the phase boundary.

When calculating the Weber number, it should be taken into account that the surface or interfacial tension of surfactant solutions does not usually reach its equilibrium value due to high process speeds. The bubble pressure method is therefore often used as measuring method for surface tension, and the drop volume method for interfacial tension. These methods measure the dynamic surface tension or interfacial tension independently of surface age.