悬滴法

悬滴法是通过在液相或气相中的针头悬挂滴液。液滴的形状取决于表面张力界面张力与重力之间的关系。在悬滴法中,可使用液滴形状分析从悬滴的投影计算表面张力或界面张力。

背景

内外相之间的界面张力导致液滴内部的压强不断增大。压力差Δp,表面曲率半径r1和r2和界面张力之间的关系可以用杨-拉普拉斯等式表示:

悬挂的液滴在重力作用下发生变形,重力作为静压影响液滴内部的主曲率半径r1和r2

悬滴法

像静压与高度有关一样,液滴界面的弯曲同样在竖直方向发生改变。这样就造成了悬挂液滴的梨形特征。

同球形的偏差程度可以由液滴的重量与表面张力的比率给出。如果知道两相密度差,表面张力可以由液滴形状计算出。液滴形状不能随意缩放,实际上在计算中要用到液滴的实际尺寸。

在测量中过程中,首先测量视频图像的比例从而确定实际的液滴尺寸。利用灰度分析由进样液滴的视频图像测定液滴的形状。形状参数B随着数值计算方法改变直到计算出的液滴形状与实际形状相一致。界面张力由密度差Δρ和修正的参数B计算出。

Pendant drop

The pendant drop is a drop suspended from a needle in a bulk liquid or gaseous phase. The shape of the drop results from the relationship between the surface tension or interfacial tension and gravity. In the pendant drop method, the surface tension or interfacial tension is calculated from the shadow image of a pendant drop using drop shape analysis.

Background

An increased pressure is produced inside the drop as a result of the interfacial tension between inner and outer phase. The correlation between the pressure difference Δp, the radii of curvature of the surface r1 and r2 and the interfacial tension is described by the Young- Laplace equation:

The pendant drop is deformed under the effect of gravity, as a hydrostatic pressure which affects the main radii of curvature r1 and r2 is produced inside the drop due to the weight.

Pendant drop

As the hydrostatic pressure is dependent on height, the curvature of the drop interface also changes in the vertical direction. This results in the characteristic "pear shape" of a pendant drop.

The degree of deviation from the spherical shape is given by the ratio between the weight of the drop and its surface tension. If the density difference between the phases is known, the surface tension can be calculated from the shape of the drop. The shape cannot be scaled at will; in fact the actual dimensions of the drop are used in the calculation.

When making a measurement, the scale of the video image is measured first in order to give access to the actual drop dimensions. The shape of the drop is then determined from the video image of the dosed drop using greyscale analysis. A shape parameter designated by B is then varied in a numerical method until the calculated drop shape corresponds with the actual shape. The interfacial tension is calculated from the density difference Δρ and the modified B parameter.