泡沫

泡沫是连接着两相的联合体,气态泡被液膜(液体泡沫)或固体壁(固态泡沫)分开,表面活性剂参与了泡沫的产生和稳定过程。作为界面现象的液态泡沫是此术语表的一个主题。

背景

当表面活性剂溶液中存在气泡时,表面活性剂分子吸附在泡沫的表面,并且降低了气泡和体相的表面张力。如果气泡上升,会产生包围着薄膜 (lamella薄层)的泡沫。这些薄膜都能够与其它的联结,从而形成泡沫。薄膜由双层表面活性剂组成,其中一侧由向上运动的表面活性剂分子组成,另一侧由先前到达表面的表面活性剂分子组成。

由双层表面活性剂组成的薄膜

薄膜由于表面活性剂分子的吸附焓而稳定,由于内部压力(拉普拉斯压力)和因重力流出薄膜液体(排水)而不稳定。不稳定的影响导致液体的泡沫逐渐崩溃。由于起泡能力和泡沫稳定性差异,表面活性剂溶液差异很大。

意义

泡沫是非常重要的行业,能起泡的表面活性剂溶液产品大批量用于化妆品、 身体保健和食品行业,清洗,泡沫(浮选)和消防行业。
阻止泡沫产生也同样重要,例如印刷、 泵送、 冷却和润滑的过程。在这里使用消泡剂或抗泡剂,破坏泡沫或防止它们的形成。

测量方法(选择)

  • 起泡性测量:在通入一连串气体、转子搅拌或从高处倾倒(罗氏泡沫法)的方法下产生气泡。起泡后,检测泡沫形成的高度。
  • 泡沫稳定性测量:在确定的产泡方式下,观察样品气泡样品的泡沫高度。可基于不同参数得到泡沫的消退速率。
  • 泡沫结构分析:棱镜得到泡沫结构的二维切面被记录在视频中。软件分析视频计算得到每区域内的泡沫数量、尺寸及分布。
  • 电导率测量(液体含量测定):基于比较初始溶液和成泡后的电导率,可以测定泡沫的液体含量,此时可得到与排水及稳定性相关的高度和时间依赖性数据。

Foam

Foam is the union of two phase systems consisting of gaseous bubbles which are separated by liquid lamella (liquid foam) or solid walls (solid foam). Liquid foams as interfacial phenomena, where surfactants are involved in their production and stabilization, are the subject of this glossary.

Background

When gas bubbles are present in a surfactant solution, surfactant molecules adsorb at the surface of the bubble and reduce the surface tension between the bubble and the volume phase. If a bubble rises, this produces bubbles which are enclosed by a thin film (lamella). These lamellae are able to bond with others, thus forming a foam. A lamella consists of a double layer of surfactant, one side of which consists of the upwardly transported surfactant molecules and the other side of which consists of the molecules which were previously present at the surface.

Formation of a film with a double layer of surfactant

Formation of a film with a double layer of surfactant

Lamellae are stabilized by the adsorption enthalpy of the surfactant molecules. They are destabilized by the internal pressure (Laplace pressure) and by gravity, which causes the liquid to flow out of the lamellae (drainage). The destabilizing effects lead to the liquid foam gradually collapsing. Surfactant solutions can differ considerably with regard to foamability and foam stability.

Significance

Foam is very important in industry. Foamable surfactant solutions are used in large quantities for products in the cosmetics, body-care and foodstuffs industries, in cleaning, for substance separation by means of foam (floatation) and in firefighting.
Just as important is the prevention of foam in processes such as printing, pumping, cooling and lubrication. Defoamers or antifoamers, which destabilize foams or prevent their formation, are used here.

Measuring methods (selection)

  • Foamability measurement: A sample is foamed, e.g. with a stream of air, with the help of a stirrer or by letting liquid fall from a reservoir into a receiver solution (Ross-Miles method). After foaming, the height of the foam achieved is determined.
  • Foam stability measurement: The foam height is observed for a sample which has been foamed in a defined manner. The rate of decay of the foam can be evaluated on the basis of different parameters.
  • Foam structure analysis: Foam is video-recorded using a special prism for achieving a two-dimensional cut through the foam structure. The video is analyzed by software in order to calculate the number of bubbles per area as well as the bubble sizes and their statistical distribution.
  • Conductivity measurement (determination of liquid content): The liquid content of the foam can be determined based on a comparison of the conductivity of the starting solution and the foam formed. Height and time-dependent measurements enable the foam to be characterized with regard to drainage and stability.