气泡压力张力仪

气泡压力张力仪是测量动态表面张力的仪器,借助毛细管可以测量在液相中形成的气泡的最大压力。

背景

根据杨-拉普拉斯方程,球形气泡的内压(拉普拉斯压力)取决于曲率半径r和表面张力σ。

当在液相中的毛细管顶端产生气泡时,曲率先增加然后减小,其中会有最大压力的产生。当曲线半径同毛细管半径相等时,此时曲率最大也对应着最大的压力。

气泡压力测量的特性曲线,最大压力位置

采用某种已知表面张力的液体(通常为水)可以对毛细管的半径进行校准测量。在毛细管半径测定后,就可以通过压力最大值pmax计算表面张力,该压力需要减去由于毛细管浸入引起的静水压力p0(采用最先进的仪器自动完成)得出。由此得出气泡压力测量的公式,如下:


测量结果对应的是一定表面年龄下的表面张力,表面年龄为从气泡开始产生到最大压力之间的时间。表面张力对表面年龄的关系可以通过不同的鼓泡速度测出。

表面张力同表面年龄的关系

这种关系在表面活性剂的使用上起到重要作用,在许多过程中由于表面活性剂的低扩散率和吸附率,界面张力从没办法达到平衡值。
气泡压力测量法能够测算出如扩散系数吸附系数这样的表面活性剂参数。

测定清洁和涂料容器的表面活性剂含量

泡压法表面张力仪测量动态表面张力用于间接测定工业浴中清洁剂或润湿剂的浓度。这类液体中的浓度通常高于临界胶束浓度(CMC),即其静态表面张力(SFT)不随浓度增加而变化。但动态表面张力对短表面年龄内却会表现出很大的差异。通过测量不同表面活性剂浓度的样品记录下宽动态范围(表面年龄从短到长)内的测量曲线时(见上图),就可以获得最佳表面年龄和校准曲线,然后通过单点测量将该最佳表面年龄和校准曲线用于清洁或涂料容器的质量控制。

Bubble pressure tensiometer

A bubble pressure tensiometer is an instrument for determining the dynamic surface tension. The maximum internal pressure of a gas bubble which is formed in a liquid by means of a capillary is measured.

Background

According to the Young-Laplace equation, the internal pressure p of a spherical gas bubble (Laplace pressure) depends on the radius of curvature r and the surface tension σ.

When a gas bubble is produced in a liquid at the tip of a capillary, the curvature initially increases and then decreases, resulting in the occurrence of a pressure maximum. The greatest curvature and therefore the greatest pressure occurs when the radius of curvature is equal to the radius of the capillary.

Pressure characteristic for the bubble pressure measurement, position of pressure maximum

The radius of the capillary is determined with a calibration measurement carried out with a liquid with known surface tension, usually water. Once the radius is known, the surface tension can be calculated from the pressure maximum pmax. The hydrostatic pressure p0 due to the immersion of the capillary must be subtracted from the measured pressure (which is done automatically with state-of-the-art instruments). This results in the following formula for the bubble pressure measurement:

 

Analyzing the dynamic behavior of surfactants

The measured value corresponds to the surface tension at a certain surface age, the time from the start of the bubble formation to the occurrence of the pressure maximum. The dependence of surface tension on surface age can be measured by varying the speed at which bubbles are produced.

Chart surface tension vs. surface age

Dependency of the surface tension on the surface age

This dependency plays an important part in the use of surfactants, as in many processes the equilibrium value of the interfacial tension is never reached due to the sometimes low surfactant diffusion and adsorption rates.
Bubble pressure measurements enable surfactant rate parameters such as the diffusion coefficient and the adsorption coefficient to be calculated.

Determining the surfactant content in cleaning and coating baths

Measurements of the dynamic surface tension are also used for an indirect determination of the concentration of cleaning or wetting agents in industrial baths. The concentration in such liquids usually lies above the critical micelle concentration (CMC), i.e. in a range where the static SFT does not change with increasing concentration. However, this does not apply to the dynamic SFT, which shows a strong dependency on the concentration at short surface ages. When recording measuring curves in a wide dynamic range from short to long surface ages for different surfactant concentrations (see figure above), the optimal surface age and a calibration curve can be obtained and then used for quality control of cleaning or coating baths by carrying out single-point measurements.