滴重计

滴重计是一种用于测量液体表面张力(SFT)和两种液体之间的界面张力(IFT)的简单通用手动仪器。测量包括确定从垂直毛细管流过的液滴落下的液滴质量体积。滴重计是早期形式的滴体积法张力仪,它通过电子控制的液体滴定和光学液滴检测来测量动态IFT或SFT

 

背景

根据Tate定律,落下质量m取决于表面张力(SFT)σ,毛细管内径r和重力加速度g:

Tate??
Schematic picture of a stalagmometer

这个方程式描述了液滴在其重力刚刚超过新形成液体表面的张力,恰好下降的时刻。如液体密度已知,则计量器可测出液滴体积,也可计算已知体积液滴的界面张力。如毛细管的内径未知,则样品的相对SFT可由已知SFT(通常为水)推导。

对表面活性剂溶液的适用性

因为测量的是新的表面产生的过程,所以测量结果不是一个静态值,而是描述了和时间相关的动态值过程。由于表面活性剂扩散吸附动力,只要悬挂在毛细管底部液滴的表面张力还没有达到平衡值,其最终结果就取决于离开其时的表面年龄。使用手动滴重计,流量和表面年龄只能在非常有限的范围内调整。由于液体静压力的降低,在测量过程中也会发生变化,因此这个效应无法量化。

滴体积法张力仪中运用的测量原理

通过电子滴体积法张力仪,可以预先确定流速并在较大的范围内改变流速。这些仪器利用表面活性剂溶液的IFT或SFT对其的依赖性,以研究表面活性剂的动态特性,并量化其在不同速度的工艺过程中的行为。此外,在低流速下,通常可以测量IFT / SFT的平衡值,这和其静态测量的结果一致。

文献目录

T. Tate, Phil. Mag. 22, 176 (1864)

Stalagmometer

A stalagmometer a simple and normally manual instrument for measuring the surface tension (SFT) of liquids and, more rarely, the interfacial tension (IFT) between two liquids. The measurement involves determining the mass or volume of drops of liquid falling from the tip of a vertical capillary after flowing through it. The stalagmometer is an earlier form of the drop volume tensiometer, which measures the dynamic IFT or SFT with the help of an electronically controlled liquid feed and optical drop detection.

Background

According to Tate's law, the mass m of the falling drops depends on the surface tension (SFT) σ, the inner capillary radius r and the acceleration due to gravity g:

Tate's law
Schematic picture of a stalagmometer

This equation describes the fact that the drop falls at the exact moment that its weight counterbalances the force to be applied to form the new liquid surface at the breakaway limit. The mass or, assuming the density of the liquid is known, the volume of the drops is measured. It is also possible to count the drops which are formed from a given volume. If the internal diameter of the capillary is not known exactly, the relative SFT of the sample can be measured in relation to a liquid with known SFT (usually water).

Applicability to surfactant solutions

The measured result is not a static but a dynamic SFT, as the measurement is carried out as a new surface forms. In the case of surfactants, due to the diffusion and adsorption dynamics, the result depends on the surface age at the moment of breakaway, as long as an equilibrium value has not yet been reached. With a manual stalagmometer, the flow rate, and therefore the surface age, can only be adjusted to a very limited extent. It also changes during the course of the measurement due to the reducing hydrostatic pressure. This effect therefore cannot be quantified.

Use of the measuring principle in a drop volume tensiometer

With electronic drop volume tensiometers, it is possible to predetermine the flow speed and to vary it over a large range. These instruments make use of the dependency of the IFT or SFT of a surfactant solution on the surface age in order to investigate the dynamic properties of a surfactant and to quantify their behavior in technical processes with different speeds. Furthermore, with low flow rates, it is often possible to measure the equilibrium value of the IFT/SFT, which corresponds to the result of a static measurement.

Bibliography

T. Tate, Phil. Mag. 22, 176 (1864)