• 喷墨墨盒

    喷墨墨盒

喷墨打印

用表面科学原理优化油墨和承印物

喷墨是一种数字控制的过程,结合了各种油墨类型和印刷载体,是一个非常灵活和通用的工具。其质量高度依赖于打印头喷嘴的液滴形成、液滴在承印物上的铺展和承印物的润湿行为。评估油墨的静态和动态表面张力以及材料的表面性能是我们仪器的应用领域。

喷墨印刷的常见应用

  • 办公用打印机
  • 工业印刷
  • 包装印刷
  • 打印大型OLED显示器

用静态和动态表面张力控制油墨的润湿性

液滴形成和扩散主要受油墨表面张力的控制,通常由表面活性剂降低油墨表面张力。我们的张力仪通过测量静态表面张力调整表面活性剂浓度,同时可自动在广泛的浓度范围内测定表面活性剂效率的指标 - 临界胶束浓度(CMC)。

优化油墨润湿意味着调节表面活性剂降低表面张力的速度。在油墨喷射时,表面张力必须足够大,以确保喷嘴内部弯液面的恢复,由此保证正常液滴形成。然而,在极短喷射时间后,表面张力必须足够低,以保证承印物的适当润湿。我们的气泡压力张力仪能在较广的速度范围内检测表面张力的动态特性。

评估印刷载体的润湿性和表面处理的效果

承印物的表面能决定润湿性,并部分地控制油墨和承印物(如纸或塑料)之间的粘附力。我们的液滴形状分析仪测定表面自由能和其极性和分散组分。此能量概况可用于优化表面预处理,如等离子体或电晕处理。

当约100皮升的喷墨打印滴喷射到承印物上,我们的皮升滴液装置、显微镜光学装置和高速相机以非常近似真实的环境条件表征这种润湿过程。

通过泡沫分析测量避免泡沫

凡有表面活性剂参与的动态过程,泡沫形成会成为一个有待解决的挑战。我们的动态泡沫分析仪 – DFA100提供了高度重复性的方法来在不稳定泡沫的短期区间内测量泡沫形成,这使得它能够优化用以添加到油墨中的消泡剂,从而成为一个强大的工具。

KRÜSS应用报告

AR269:研究印刷亮面漆消泡剂的泡沫抑制效果

为避免泡沫引起诸多质量问题,要将消泡剂加入到水性印刷油墨和亮面漆中。我们对两种有机硅类消泡剂的效率进行了研究,并对两者的泡沫高度与作用时间的相关性进行了研究。

AR267:表面活性剂水溶液的发泡性能和泡沫稳定性

对三种低发泡表面活性剂溶液的发泡性能和泡沫稳定性能进行表征。通过对界面流变性能测量结果进行比较,界面流变性能参数与泡沫测量数据之间有良好的相关性。

AR256:塑料如何丧失疏水性

接触角测量结果证明了通过臭氧处理可以提高表面极性,研究结果还表明表面活化程度取决于处理的持续时间。

AR221:不同类型纸张的润湿性和表面张力

含孔隙的纸张吸附的特点是接触角会急剧变化,我们用Washburn法测量其毛细作用。对铜版纸的表面能进行检测可以测定评价不同的亲水性能。.

• Ink-jet cartridges

    Ink-jet cartridges

Ink-jet printing

Optimization of the ink, the printing process and the substrate with surface science methods

While inkjet technology is declining in the home and office sectors, industrial applications are recording strong growth. Thanks to the multitude of possible combinations of ink types and substrates, as well as low set-up costs, inkjet printing is a very adaptable process. The quality depends very much on the control of the print heads, on the flight behavior of the droplets and on the droplet distribution on the substrate as well as on its wettability. The method of Drop Watching and the investigation of the static and dynamic surface tension of the ink as well as the surface properties of the substrate are typical applications for our measuring instruments.

Common applications of inkjet printing

  • Packaging printing and individual branding
  • Printing on ceramics, decor and glass
  • Floor coverings
  • Textile printing
  • Printable circuits
  • 3D printing

    Optimization of the printing process and the ink by means of Drop Watching

    Drop Watching is the examination of ink drops immediately after leaving the print head. Ideally, the piezo nozzles of the printhead are controlled directly by the measuring instrument, so that the drop behavior can be observed as a direct effect of the defined waveform. The novel two-color double strobe method allows accurate measurements of volume, velocity, ligament length and the formation of satellite droplets. The results help to match print parameters and ink formulation in a targeted manner to achieve high-quality print results.

    Controlling the ink’s wetting behavior with static and dynamic surface tension

    Drop formation and spreading is largely controlled by the surface tension of the ink, which is commonly lowered with surfactants. Our tensiometers help to adjust the surfactant concentration by measuring the static surface tension. The critical micelle formation concentration (CMC) as an indicator for the surfactant’s efficiency is measured automatically using a wide concentration range.

    To optimize ink in terms of wetting means to regulate the speed with which the surfactant lowers the surface tension. During ink ejection, the surface tension needs to be large enough to ensure meniscus recovery inside the nozzle, and thereby, guarantee a proper drop formation. However, after a very short flight time, the surface tension needs to be low enough to assure proper wetting of the substrate. Our bubble pressure tensiometers monitor the dynamic behavior of the surface tension in a wide range of speed.

    Evaluating the wettability of the print carrier and the effect of surface treatment

    The surface energy of the substrate defines the wettability and partly controls the adhesion between ink and substrates such as paper or plastics. Our Drop Shape Analyzers determine the surface free energy and its division into polar and disperse parts. This energy profile serves to optimize surface preparation steps like plasma or corona treatment.

    As ink-jet printing drops of approximately 100 pL are ejected onto a substrate, our picoliter dosing unit, microscope optics, and high speed camera characterize this wetting process very closely to true environmental conditions.

    Avoiding foam with the help of foam analysis measurements

    Wherever there are surfactants involved in dynamic processes, foam formation can become a challenge to solve. Our Dynamic Foam Analyzer – DFA100 offers highly reproducible methods for measuring foam formation in the short-term range of unstable foams. This makes it a powerful tool for optimizing antifoam agents added to the ink.

    KRÜSS Application Reports

    AR289: How waveform, surface tension, and viscosity affect the jetting behavior in inkjet printing

    The generation of drops at a piezo-based inkjet nozzle is an interaction between the geometry of the print head, the parameters of the liquid, such as surface tension and viscosity, and the wave form with which the piezo element is actuated. Using model liquids, our application report illustrates how these quantities determine the jetting behavior.

    AR269: Investigating the foam-inhibiting effect of antifoaming agents in printing lacquers

    To avoid the numerous quality problems due to foam, antifoaming agents are added to aqueous printing inks and lacquers. The efficiency of two silicone-based antifoaming agents is investigated and compared using foam height measurements with respect to time.

    AR267: Foam behavior and foam stability of aqueous surfactant solutions

    The foaming and stability behavior of three surfactant low-foaming solutions are characterized. Comparative interfacial rheology measurements provide a good correlation between interfacial rheology parameters and the data from the foam measurements.

    AR256: How plastics lose their hydrophobia

    The increase in surface polarity by ozone treatment is proven with the help of contact angle measurement. The results also show the dependency of the degree of surface activation on the duration of the treatment.

    AR221: Wettabilities and Surface Tension of Different Paper Types

    Rapid change of contact angle describes the absorption into porous paper, the capillarity of which is measured in addition with the Washburn method. For coated paper, different hydrophilic behavior is detected via surface energy determination.

    Request more information