How to evaluate the outcome of surface pretreatment

Webinar with Plasmatreat
Time Slot 1 (5am UTC) 01:00 pm CST (Shanghai, China)
Time Slot 2 (8am UTC) 10:00 am CEST (Hamburg, Germany)
Time Slot 3 (3pm UTC) 11:00 am EDT (Charlotte, NC)
四月 27. - 27.

How to evaluate the outcome of surface pretreatment

 

In this live webinar, Frederick Fiddler, Technical Manager at KRÜSS, will be joined by Andreas Liebert from Plasmatreat to demonstrate surface free energy (SFE) measurements with the Mobile Surface Analyzer – MSA  One-Click SFE on three polymer samples, both before and after the surface activation process. The results will be further interpreted to evaluate the outcome of the surface pretreatment using our state-of-the-art software, ADVANCE. Additionally, Frederick will discuss contact angle measurements and the resulting information about adhesion performance. 

 

What you can expect

 

  • Learn how dyne ink tests work and why they often fail
  • Discover how adhesion behavior can be predicted
  • Reliably test the outcome of surface pretreatment


Topics

 

  • What is surface free energy?
  • How can plasma treatment be optimized?
  • What advantages does SFE measurement have over dyne inks?
  • What can you do if overtreatment is not visible to the naked eye?

 

Details on MSA One-Click SFE


A powerful instrument for quality control of pretreated, coated, or cleaned surfaces, the MSA One-Click SFE measures wettability by means of the surface free energy automatically and extremely fast.
 
With just one click, the MSA doses parallel drops of two liquids, followed by the direct analysis of the contact angles and the derived results of the surface free energy. All steps are automated and happen within a second. The result allows well-founded statements about the general wettability by aqueous or organic liquids as well as the adhesion.
 
Thanks to the reliable and pre-defined measuring procedure, user-independent results are guaranteed and errors due to incorrect operation are virtually ruled out.

 

MSA applications

 

  • Determination of wettability before coating or bonding
  • Quality assurance of activation processes such as plasma treatment, flame treatment, or corona treatment
  • Quality assurance for the cleaning of surfaces
  • Testing the effectiveness of hydrophobic coatings and other coatings
  • Measurement on large workpieces and finished products such as car bodies, aircraft parts, or walls

 

 

 

In cooperation with