滴体积法张力仪

滴体积法张力仪可以测定动态界面张力。一种液体通过处在另一个液相中的垂直毛细管产生液滴,液滴体积在同毛细管顶端分离时被测量,如果测量过程发生在空气作为体相时,也可以测定动态表面张力

背景

在滴体积方法中,一种液相通过毛细管被引入到体相中,由于浮力作用试图向上移动的液滴在毛细管顶端形成。

滴体积法张力仪测量原理

通过倒置的装置,重相液滴从毛细管中滴落也是可行的。
由于界面张力γ的作用,液滴试图在体相中保持尽可能小的界面。当液滴从毛细管上脱落时,新的界面产生,这需要克服相应的界面张力,液滴直到举升力能够补偿毛细管润湿长度上的界面张力时才会脱落,关系式如下:

g = 重力加速度, V = 液滴体积, d = 毛细管内径, Δp = 两相密度差

表面张力仪类型

正常来说,该测量过程取决于给定总体积分界的液滴的数量或者收集到的液滴的总量(滴重计)。通常指定流速是不可能的。由于储存体积的液柱的粘度和高度影响,在测量过程中数值会发生改变。
通过DVT50可以用光栅测量在一定流速下两个脱离液滴之间的时间,这样就可以通过流速预先决定界面年龄(液滴形成到脱离的时间),因此也就可以测量界面年龄下的界面张力。

界面张力同界面年龄的关系

这种关系在表面活性剂的使用中起到重要作用,在许多过程中由于较低的表面活性剂扩散及吸附速率,界面张力从不可能达到平衡值。

Drop volume tensiometer

A drop volume tensiometer is an instrument for determining the dynamic interfacial tension. Drops of a liquid are produced in a vertical capillary in a surrounding second liquid. The volume at which the drops detach from the tip of the capillary is measured. The dynamic surface tension can also be measured if measurements are made in air as the bulk phase.

Background

In the drop volume method, a liquid is introduced into a bulk phase through a capillary. A drop, which tries to move upwards due to buoyancy, forms at the tip of the capillary.

Measuring principle of a drop volume tensiometer

The reverse arrangement, in which drops of the heavy phase drop from the tip of the capillary, is also possible.
As a result of the interfacial tension γ the drop tries to keep the interface with the bulk phase as small as possible. As a new interface comes into being when the drop detaches from the capillary outlet, it is necessary to overcome the corresponding interfacial tension. The drop does not detach until the lifting force or weight compensates for the force resulting from the interfacial tension on the wetted length of the capillary, the circumference. The formula for this relationship is:

g = Acceleration due to gravity, V = Drop volume, d = Inside diameter of capillary, Δp = Difference in density between the phases

Tensiometer types

Conventionally, the measurement consists in determining the number of drops into which a given total volume divides, or in measuring the mass of the collected drops (stalagmometer). As a rule, it is not possible to specify the flow rate. This results from the viscosity and height of the liquid column of the stored volume, as a result of which it changes during the measurement.
With the DVT50 drop volume tensiometer, the time between two detaching drops at a set flow rate is measured by means of a light barrier. This enables the interface age (time from the start of drop formation to the moment of detachment) to be predetermined by varying the flow rate. The interfacial tension is thus measured as a function of the interface age.

Dependency of the interfacial tension on the interface age

This dependency plays an important part in the use of surfactants, as in many processes the equilibrium value of the interfacial tension is never reached due to the sometimes low surfactant diffusion and adsorption rates.