色散部分

根据Fowkes理论,色散部分是固体表面自由能或者液体表面张力组成的一部分,是其色散作用产生的。当液体极性部分和色散部分已知,固体的表面自由能可以通过测量接触角,通过不同的模型计算得到。

背景

色散作用是建立在那些非永久性分子中的电子密度临时变化。这产生的瞬时偶极子可以诱导相邻的瞬时偶极子。这些微作用力就是我们所知道的色散力。
根据Fowkes理论,表面张力σ是基于相内粘附作用力(粘附功),色散部分 (σD)和非色散部分(σnD)根据Owens, Wendt, Rabel和Kaelble理论则是色散部分(σD)和极性部分(σP)。两部分的和就是总的表面张力。
当一相接触到另外一相,粘附作用力的增强取决于(粘附功 WA)相邻两相之间的共同相互作用。这种作用力可以根据Owens,Wendt,Rable和Kaelble方程表示:

在上面公式,同WuOss & Good理论一样,色散部分和极性部分的结合对粘附作用力没有用。

Dispersive part

According to Fowkes, the dispersive part (disperse part, dispersion part) is that part of the surface free energy of a solid or the surface tension of a liquid which is due to dispersive interactions. When the polar part and the dispersive part of the surface tension of liquids is known, the surface free energy of a solid can be calculated by measuring the contact angle using different models.

Background

Dispersive interactions are based on temporary variations in the electron density which are not permanently localized in the molecule. This produces temporary dipoles which can also induce temporary dipoles in adjacent molecules. These weak interactions are known as London force.
The surface tension σ is based on cohesive interactions (work of cohesion) within a phase, which, according to Fowkes, are dispersive ( σD) and non-dispersive (σnD) and, according to Owens, Wendt, Rabel and Kaelble, are dispersive (σD) or polar (σP). In each case the sum of the parts makes up the total surface tension.
When there is contact with a second phase, the extent of adhesive interactions (work of adhesion WA) depends on whether similar interactions can be formed with the adjacent phase. This can be seen from the equation according to Owens, Wendt, Rabel und Kaeble for example:

In the models mentioned, as well as in those of Wu and Oss & Good, the combination of dispersive and polar parts does not contribute to the adhesive interactions.