共聚焦显微镜

共聚焦显微镜是用于获得表面纹理和物体三维图像的光学方法。利用反射光法,可以在不接触的情况下精确地测量表面的粗糙度。激光扫描荧光显微镜在技术上与其类似,主要用于微生物学。

基本技术原理

使用共聚焦显微镜,借助针孔孔径产生点光源。从物体返回的光穿过第二针孔或再次穿过同一针孔,并且撞击在检测器(通常是相机)上。被照射物体区域的图像形成,具有非常低的景深。也就是说,光强度在焦平面的上方和下方急剧减小,从而仅显示该平面。

孔分布呈螺旋状的旋转盘(Nipkow盘)用于检测物体的整个表面而不是仅一个点。现代仪器使用微透镜盘代替针孔或与针孔结合使用。这增加了光输出,因此也能够显示弱反射或甚至透明的物体。对于三维扫描,镜头与物体的距离以微小增量调整,从而在清晰显示的平面基础上构建空间图像。

粗糙度测量

ISO 25718标准将共聚焦显微镜描述为用于测量粗糙度的非接触式方法。样品的光学横截面分辨率可以低至10nm。精确测量最精细的粗糙度,使用共聚焦技术来确定诸如粗糙度率R’和轮廓的算术平均偏差Ra的标准参数。

使用共聚焦显微镜对粗糙的圆孔内表面及高度进行分析

Confocal microscopy

Confocal microscopy is an optical method for obtaining three-dimensional images of surface textures and objects. With a reflected-light method, the roughness of a surface can be accurately measured without contact. The technically similar method of laser scanning fluorescence microscopy is used mainly in microbiology.

Basic technical principle

With a confocal microscope, a point light source is generated with the help of a pinhole aperture. The light returning from the object passes through a second pinhole aperture, or the same aperture a second time, and impinges on the detector, as a rule a video camera. An image of the illuminated object area is formed with a very low depth of field, i.e. the light intensity reduces sharply above and below the focal plane so that only this plane is displayed.

A rotating aperture disk with holes arranged in the form of a spiral (Nipkow disk) is used to detect the whole surface of the object rather than just one point. Modern instruments use a micro-lens disk instead of or in combination with pinhole apertures. This increases the light yield, thus also enabling poorly reflecting or even transparent objects to be displayed. For three-dimensional scanning, the distance of the lens from the object is adjusted in tiny increments, thus building up a spatial image from the sharply displayed planes.

Optical setup of a confocal microscope

Roughness measurement

Confocal microscopy is described in Norm ISO 25718 as a contactless method for measuring roughness. The optical cross sections of the sample can be superimposed upon one another with a resolution of down to 10 nm. This enables the finest roughnesses to be accurately measured, and standard parameters such as the roughness coefficient R’ and the mean roughness Ra to be determined using confocal technology.

Rough cylinder bore surface and height analysis using a confocal microscope

Rough cylinder bore surface and height analysis using a confocal microscope